Seven area baseball players named to HM of Class 5A All-State team

ALL-STATE: Haughton pitcher Austin Anderson was one of seven area baseball players named honorable mention on the LSWA Class 5A All-State team.


Seven baseball players from District 1-5A were named to the honorable mention list of the LSWA Class 5A All-State team chosen by writers across the state.

Haughton and Parkway both landed two, while Airline, Benton and Captain Shreve each had one player selected.

District 1-5A MVP Austin Anderson was selected after a season in which he hit .398 and drove in 30 runs. He was also 9-2 on the mound with a 1.72 ERA. Teammate Colin Rains joins him after a season that he set a school record with 19 doubles while hitting .436.

Parkway’s two players chosen were senior pitcher Cade Josting and junior catcher/designated hitter Zach Schoenborn. Josting was 5-1 on the season with a  2.10 ERA in 60 innings that included 70 strikeouts. Schoenborn hit .418 with five home runs and 31 RBI.

Blake Fant of Captain Shreve finished his senior season with a 448 average that included five home runs. Airline’s Harrison Waxley played third base when he wasn’t pitching and hit .402 during his senior season. Benton senior pitcher Cale Latimer had a sparkling 0.78 ERA with 47 strikeouts in 26 innings.

Here is the complete list of the LSWA Class 5A All-State Baseball Team:

Position, Player, School Class, Stats

P Brennan Eager West Monroe Jr. 9-1

P Gavin Guidry Barbe Sr. 8-0

P Jake Brown Sulphur Jr. 8-3

P DJ Primeaux Central Sr. 10-4

C Clayton Pourciau Catholic Jr. .330

IF Trey Hawsey West Monroe So. .407

IF Tanner Vadnais Dutchtown Sr. .350

IF Brody Hebert H.L. Bourgeois Jr. .435

IF Lee Amedee St. Amant Sr. .330

OF John Pearson West Monroe So. .370

OF Noah Simon Destrehan Sr. .348

OF Walker Bazile Brother Martin Sr. .424

UT Andrew Glass Sam Houston Sr. .370

UT Nathan Monceaux Dutchtown Sr. 10-1

UT Lakin Polk Ponchatoula Sr. 7-3

UT Logan O’Neill John Curtis Sr. .389

UT Hayden Federico West Monroe So. .333

Outstanding Player: Gavin Guidry, Barbe

Coach of the Year: Wade Simoneaux, West Monroe

Honorable mention: Austin Anderson, Haughton; Colin Rains, Haughton; Blake Fant, Captain Shreve; Harrison Waxley, Airline; Cale Latimer, Benton; Cade Josting, Parkway; Zach Schoenborn, Parkway; Gage Trahan, Sulphur, Bryce Fontenot, Sulphur; JR Tollett, Ruston; Reid Williams, Ruston; Ean Rodrigue, Thibodaux; Branson Arceneaux, Thibodaux; Ethan Lovell, Terrebonne; Landon Clampit, West Ouachita; Jermaine Minor, Alexandria; Landon Victorian, Barbe; Harris Waghalter, Catholic; Nick Gisclair, Dutchtown; Alex Laiche, Brother Martin; Holden Hess, Jesuit; Ryan Porche, Jesuit; Aaron Lanerie, Acadiana; Chris Kelly, Pineville; Josh Eames; Caleb Little, West Monroe; Lane Felder, Zachary; Crawford Courville, Barbe; Cole Poirrier, St. Amant; Brady Neyland, Zachary; CJ Sturiale, Catholic; Cardell Thibodeaux, Acadiana; Michael O’Brien, John Curtis; Prescott Marsh, Catholic; Gavin Vordick, H.L. Bourgeois; John Carmichael, Destrehan; Brenden Zahn, Chalmette; Cade Anderson, St. Paul’s.