Parkway’s Larry named to Class 5A All-State softball team


Multi-talented athlete Chloe Larry of Parkway was selected to the first team of the LSWA Class 5A All-State softball team.

Larry enjoyed a sophomore season that finished with her hitting .643 with seven home runs and committing only one error while playing multiple positions.

Named to the honorable mention list were Airline’s Jina Baffuto, Paris Endris and Elena Heng, Ava Defee and Sophie Livers from Benton, Brooklyn Brockhaus of Haughton and Riley Myers from Southwood.

Senior shortstop Baffuto hit .554 with 10 home runs for Airline. Endris, a senior catcher, hit 16 home runs and batted .487 while Heng scored 41 runs and finished with a .448 average.

Benton sophomore pitcher Defee worked 121 innings and struck out 158 with a 3.87 ERA. Teammate Livers was a junior infielder who hit .485 with seven home runs and 31 RBI.

Haughton senior Bockhaus is a South Alabama signee who hit .494 with 12 home runs and drove in 41 runs. Myers finished her pitching career at Southwood with a 2.10 ERA and a 16-6 mark.

Below is the complete list of the 2022 Class 5A Softball All-State team:

Position, Player, School, Class, Stats

P Halie Pappion Barbe Sr. .20-3

P Maddie Nichols, West Monroe Sr. 14-4

P Lainee Bailey Walker Sr. 29-5

P Addison Jackson St. Amant Jr. 30-2

C Kirsten Thiels Pineville Sr. .432

IF Brylie Fontenot Sam Houston Jr. .534

IF Bailey Henderson Pineville Jr. .608

IF Sara Roussel Hahnville Sr. .551

IF Chloe Larry Parkway So. .643

OF Nyjah Fontenot Barbe Sr. .486

OF Dayzja Williams Alexandria Jr. .456

OF Karli Sellers West Monroe Jr. .413

UT Lexie Dibley Sam Houston Jr. .398

UT Emily Collins Pineville Sr. 30-3

UT Maddie Robinson Natchitoches Central Jr. 14-6

UT Kira Manganello John Curtis So. .388

UT Kai Goodman John Curtis So. 18-1

Outstanding Player: Addison Jackson, St. Amant

Coach of the Year: Amy Pitre, St. Amant 

Honorable mention: Jina Baffuto, Airline; Elena Heng, Airline; Paris Endris, Airline; Brooklyn Brockhaus, Haughton; Riley Myers, Southwood; Ava Defee, Benton; Sophia Livers, Benton Kailey Dwyer, Acadiana; Bevan Hartnett, Pineville; Lauren Cooper, Pineville; Catherine Stokes, Natchitoches Central; Carla Wilson, Ruston; Ana Grace Garcia, St. Joseph’s Academy; Jenna Samuel, Northshore; Madison Laiche, John Curtis; Laney Waguespack, Hahnville; Lauren Sekenger, Dominican; Brynne Songy, Dutchtown; Madison Jolie Lenderman, Acadiana; Rheagan Montgomery, Ouachita; Erin Stallings, Alexandria; Desi Robinson, Natchitoches Central; Caitlyn Riche, Walker; Shaun Leiva, Live Oak; Alix Franklin, St. Amant; Ashlyn Shirah, Northshore; Rikki Adams, Chalmette; MyKail Lusco, Dominican; Landrie Crockett, West Ouachita; Carmen Dixon, St. Amant; Madelyn England, Sam Houston; Bailey Neathery, West Ouachita; Heather Triche, H.L. Bourgeois.