Loyola girls sweep soccer All-State honors

ALL-STATE DUO: Division III state champion Loyola placed six players on the All-State team that included Kennedy Jarrett (18) and Madalyn Vandevender.

By LEE HILLER, Journal Sports

The Louisiana Soccer Coaches Association All-State teams for all four divisions were announced Tuesday and Division III girls state champion Loyola led Shreveport-Bossier with six selections and swept all three of the top honors.

Topping the list of athletes honored on the Division III girls team was Loyola senior forward Kennedy Jarrett, named the Offensive Most Valuable Player while teammate senior defender Aidan Heard garnered Defensive Player of the Year. Heard led a Loyola team that had 10 shutouts during the season and only allowed one goal in four playoff games.

Loyola coach Mark Matlock was named the Coach of the Year after becoming the first local coach to win a second state championship. Matlock led the Flyers to a 15-5-4 record that included matches against most of the top teams in the state. They finished the season by winning their last 13 games.

Joining Jarrett and Heard from Loyola on the first team were senior midfielder Erin Campbell, sophomore defender Mary Helen Burford and junior midfielder Madalyn Vandevender. Cassie Campbell, a sophomore midfielder, was named to the second team.

Bossier boys coach Orlando Medellin was named the Coach of the Year for Division III boys team after leading the Bearkats to the state semifinals. Hilder Quintanilla, a Bossier senior midfielder, along with Loyola forward Zachary Tuttle, also a senior, were named to the first team. Midfielder Declan Chmielewski of Loyola was named to the second team.

The Division I girls team had one from Captain Shreve and one from Byrd on both the first and second teams. Named to the first team from Shreve was junior forward Emma Bradford and senior goalkeeper Emerson Roberts of Byrd. Senior midfielder Kiley Rourke of Captain Shreve and junior midfielder Ellie Lawrence of Byrd were selected to the second team.

Sophomore forward Audrey Jordan of Caddo Magnet was named to the Division II girls first team. Jordan finished the season with 34 goals and seven assists.

Benton had a pair of boys named to the Division II team. Dayne Reed, a senior defender, was selected to the first team and senior midfielder Logan Smith made the second team.

The lone representative in Division IV belonged to Calvary. Senior Kelsey Coburn was named to the girls second team. Coburn was the Defensive Player of the Year in District 1.


To report an issue or typo with this article – CLICK HERE