Mayor Arceneux addresses appointment of citizens to Capital Improvement Committee

File Photo

Mayor Tom Arceneaux released the following statement regarding this appointment of members of a proposed Citizens Capital Improvements Committee:

We should begin now to plan for a General Obligation bond issue election for a capital improvement to be held on April 27, 2024. This will be an intense process that will involve several meetings between now and the end of the year.

As stated earlier this month, the committee will include 19 citizens from throughout the City – two selected by each City Council member and five at -large representatives I will select. This is a great representation of Shreveport. We will have business and community leaders working together. Those members as of now are:

Ronald Robinson, Jacqueline Collins Sabbath, Christopher Coe, Mavice Thigpen, Louis Avallone, James West, Grant Nuckolls, Scott Ward, Steve Martin, Michael R. LaFitte, Casaundra Calloway and RJ Johnson.

I have selected the following to serve as members at large as of now: Larry Evensky, Terry Moore,

Conner Peterson and Hilary A. Wooley. Retired LSU-S Chancellor Dr. Larry Clark has agreed to chair the committee. There will be additional members to the committee later.