Nineteen Shreveport-Bossier athletes named to LBCA Region 1 baseball team 

(Photo by JOHN PENROD, Journal Sports)


Nineteen Shreveport-Bossier baseball players were named to the Louisiana Baseball Coaches Association Region 1 team.  

Pitcher of the Year went to Benton senior Sawyer Simmons who was one of five S-B pitchers named to the team.  Simmons was 6-2 on the season with a 2.34 ERA in 54 1/3 innings and 83 strikeouts.

Shreveport Bossier Journal All-Metro Outstanding Player Kevin Robinson of Byrd was named as a pitcher along with Haughton senior Austin Anderson, Calvary Junior Landon Fontenot and Northwood sophomore Jack Carlisle.   

Infielders included Airline senior Clayton Brandon, and a pair of juniors from Calvary in Blayne McFerren and Aubrey Hermes.  

Both catchers were seniors, Zach Schoenborn of Parkway and Cade Bedgood, Calvary. 

One local outfielder was Evangel’s Kody Jackson, a senior.  

Designated hitters were Tucker McCabe, a junior from Northwood and Haughton senior Colin Rains.  

Six of the seven utility players were locals. Seniors Jackson Legg of Calvary, Walker Wicklund, Captain Shreve, Benton’s Cale Latimer and Parkway’s Trenton Lape. The other two were sophomores Jaxon Bentzler from Northwood and Christian Turner of Haughton. 

Calvary had the most named to the team with five. Northwood and Haughton placed three, Benton and Parkway two and Airline, Byrd, Captain Shreve and Evangel one each.  

Hitter of the Year was North DeSoto senior catcher Robert Ashley who finished with a .506 batting average. 

Here is the complete list of the team. 

P – Landon Fontenot, Calvary, Jr. 

P – Hayden Harmon, Glenbrook, Sr. 

P – Sawyer Simmons, Benton, Sr. 

P – Kevin Robinson, Byrd, Sr. 

P – Jack Carlisle, Northwood, So. 

P – Braden Richardson, North DeSoto, Sr. 

P – Austin Anderson, Haughton, Sr. 

C – Zach Schoenborn, Parkway, Sr. 

C – Cade Bedgood, Calvary, Sr. 

Inf – Kameron Mangham, North DeSoto, Sr. 

Inf – Blayne McFerren, Calvary, Jr. 

Inf – Clayton Brandon, Airline, Sr. 

Inf – Aubrey Hermes, Calvary, Jr. 

Inf – Brooks Boudreaux, Converse, Jr. 

Inf – Collin McKenzie, North Webster, Sr. 

OF – Maddox Mandino, Glenbrook, Sr. 

OF – Koby Jackson, Minden, Jr. 

OF – Kody Jackson, Evangel, Sr. 

OF – Sam Odom, North DeSoto, Sr. 

DH – Tucker McCabe, Northwood, Jr. 

DH – Colin Rains, Haughton, Sr. 

Util – Jackson Legg, Calvary, Sr. 

Util – Christian Turner, Haughton, So. 

Util – Walker Wicklund, Captain Shreve, Sr. 

Util – Jaxon Bentzler, Northwood, So. 

Util – Easton Sanders, Glenbrook, So. 

Util – Cale Latimer, Benton, Sr. 

Util – Trenton Lape, Parkway, Sr. 

Hitter of the Year – Robert Ashley, North DeSoto 

Pitcher of the Year – Sawyer Simmons, Benton