Seven Shreveport players named to 1-4A baseball first team


Northwood placed five players and Evangel two on the first team of the 2023 1-4A All-District baseball team selected by league coaches. 

The Falcons, who finished the season tied for first with North DeSoto, had sophomore pitchers Jack Carlisle and Christian Blackmon, sophomore utility player Jaxon Bentzler, junior outfielder Tucker McCabe and senior Cayne Little at second base. Northwood finished the season 29-10 overall and 6-1 in district.  

The Eagles were represented by junior first baseman Peyton Fulghum, who hit .430 on the season with 25 RBI, and senior outfielder Kody Jackson who had a .481 average and drove in 27 runs. ECA was 13-22 overall and 5-2 in district.  

North DeSoto swept individual honors with senior pitcher Braden Richardson being named Pitcher of the Year and Player of the Year. Coach Bo Odom was named the Coach of the Year for leading the Griffins to a 28-10 overall mark and 6-1 in district.

Here is the complete list of the 1-4A All-District team: 

First team 

P – Braden Richardson, North DeSoto, Sr. 

P – Brody Bower, Minden, Jr. 

P – Jack Carlisle, Northwood, So. 

P – Christian Blackmon, Northwood, So. 

C – Robert Ashley, North DeSoto, Sr. 

1B – Peyton Fulghum, Evangel, Jr. 

2B – Cayne Little, Northwood, Sr. 

3B – Kaleb Gibson, North DeSoto, Sr. 

SS – Kam Mangum, North DeSoto, Sr. 

OF – Sam Odom, North DeSoto, Sr. 

OF – Kody Jackson, Evangel, Sr. 

OF – JaKobe Jackson, Minden, Jr. 

OF – Tucker McCabe, Northwood, Jr. 

DH – Eli Morris, North DeSoto, Sr. 

Util – Brandon Wilson, Minden, Sr. 

Util – Tryston Hopper, North DeSoto, Jr. 

Util – Jaxon Bentzler, Northwood, So.  

Pitcher of the Year – Braden Richardson, North DeSoto, Sr. 

Most Valuable Player – Braden Richardson, North DeSoto, Sr.  

Coach of the Year – Bo Odom, North DeSoto 

Second team  

Pitchers: Jace Gill, Evangel, Sr.; Kaleb Carter, North DeSoto, Jr.; Jaxon Smith, Minden, Fr.; Landon Martin, Evangel, Fr.  

Catcher – Brendan Burns, Northwood, Sr.  

1B – Elliot Sheppard, Minden, Sr.  

2B – Brody Turnipseed, Evangel, Fr.  

3B – Hutson Herron, Northwood, Jr.  

SS – Bryson Ranger, Minden, So.  

Outfielders – Hayden Phipps, Northwood, Jr.; Cole Cory, North DeSoto, So.; Landyn Huddleston, Minden, So.  

DH – Reni Mason, North DeSoto, So.; Luke Bloxum, Northwood, Sr.; Mason Welch, Northwood, Sr.; Caleb Roles, North DeSoto, Jr. 

Final 2023 Standings
DISTRICT   1-4A Dist. All
Northwood 6-1 29-10
North DeSoto 6-1 28-10
Minden 5-2 18-14
Evangel 5-2 13-22
Huntington 3-4 9-16
Woodlawn 1-5 3-9
Bossier 1-6 1-15
BTW 0-6 0-7