Robinson, Heng head up 1-5A All-District softball team

VIKING STAR: Airline’s Elena Heng was named the District 1-5A Most Outstanding Player by the district coaches. (Photo by JOHN PENROD, Journal Sports)


Maddie Robinson of District 1-5A champion Natchitoches Central was named the District Most Valuable Player and Elena Heng of runner-up Airline was the Most Outstanding Player on the 2023 all-district team selected by district coaches. 

Natchitoches Central coach Ronnie Abels was named the Coach of the Year after leading the Lady Chiefs to an undefeated district season at 7-0 and 30-6 overall. It was their first outright 1-5A district title after consecutive years as co-champions. 

Robinson is a shortstop and right-handed pitcher who has signed to play at Baton Rouge Community College the next two seasons.

Heng is a junior who batted leadoff and played shortstop and catcher for the Lady Vikings.   

The first-team selections – 22 total – were dominated by underclassmen with 10 sophomores, five juniors and two freshmen.  

Natchitoches Central placed five on the first team, Airline seven, Benton six, Haughton three and Captain Shreve one.  

Here is the complete list of the 1-5A All-District team. 

First team 

P – Maddie Robinson, Natchitoches Central, Sr. 

P – Taylor Anne Smith, Airline, Fr. 

C – Ryan Hutchinson, Airline, So. 

C – Laney Dobrow, Haughton, So. 

Inf – Olivia Burns, Benton, Sr. 

Inf – Sophia Livers, Benton, Sr. 

Inf – Olivia Livers, Benton, Fr. 

Inf – Ella Vickers, Haughton, Jr. 

Inf – Lindsey Marcinkus, Airline, So. 

Inf – Skylar Braxton, Natchitoches Central, So. 

Inf – Morgan Robinson, Natchitoches Central, So.

OF – Desi Robinson, Natchitoches Central, Sr. 

OF – Paige Marshall, Airline, Jr. 

OF – Natalie Sutton, Airline, Sr. 

OF – Emersyn Disotell, Benton, So. 

OF – Meaux Carroll, Benton, Sr. 

OF – Carsyn Kizzia, Haughton, So. 

Util – Jayda Martin, Captain Shreve, Jr. 

Util – Emily Rachel, Airline, So. 

Util – Sydney Terrell, Natchitoches Central, So. 

Util – Ashley Promes, Benton, So. 

Util – Elena Heng, Airline 

District MVP – Maddie Robinson, Natchitoches Central  

Most Outstanding Player – Elena Heng, Airline 

Coach of the Year – Ronnie Abels, Natchitoches Central  

Second team   

Pitcher – Ella Hendrick, Captain Shreve, Fr.; Dixie Williams, Haughton, So.; Hayleah Thornton, Parkway, Jr. Catcher – Avery Schoenborn, Parkway, Jr.; Aubrey Townsend, Captain Shreve, So.   

Infield – Christina Gegg, Benton, Jr.; Ehren Guidroz, Natchitoches Central, Fr.; Madison Menard, Parkway, Fr.; Ariana Mathews, Haughton, Sr.; Macey Schut, Haughton, Sr.; Elexa Beaudoin, Captain Shreve, Jr. ; Nora Falcon, Captain Shreve, Jr.; Grace Ann Lee, Airline, Sr.   

Outfield – Lila Robertson, Natchitoches Central, Fr.; Mallory LaCour, Natchitoches Central, So.; Kemora Guidry, Airline So.; Dylan Defee, Benton, So.; Kayleigh Goss, Haughton, Jr.   

Utility – Allena Duran, Airline; Macee Thomoson, Parkway, Fr.; Aubrey Houghtby, Natchitoches Central, Sr.; Megan Hill, Captain Shreve, So.