Calvary, Evangel head list of district, state champions since 2012


Calvary Baptist and Evangel Christian have made it a routine when it comes to winning district football championships. The two schools are the leaders in the Shreveport-Bossier Journal list of schools that have won district and state titles over the past 10 years.

Calvary’s routine began in 2013 and has continued through last year for nine straight district crowns. Evangel had a run of eight straight beginning 2012 and ending three  seasons ago (2019).

Byrd has won five titles. Three of those were shared while Loyola has won four, one of which was shared.

The Cavaliers lead the local area with three state championships, capturing Division III titles in 2013, 2014 and one in Division IV in 2020. They were state semifinalists last year.

Evangel won a Division I state championship in 2016, and was a runner-up in Class 2A in 2012. They were semifinalists in 2013, 2015, 2017 and 2018.

Byrd was declared the state champion in Division I in 2020 after Catholic-Baton Rouge had to forfeit its championship. The Yellow Jackets were the state runner-up in 2013.

Number of local district champions since 2012:

No. School Years
9 Calvary 2013-21
8 Evangel 2012-’14; 2016-’19; T-’15
5 Byrd T-2012, ’14, T-’15, ’20, T-’21
4 Loyola T-2016, ’17, ’19, ’21
3 Benton T-2014, ’15, ’17
3 North Caddo 2019, ’20, T-’21
3 Northwood T-2012; ’13, ’19
3 Parkway T-2012, T-’15; 2013
2 Airline T-2012, T-2019
2 Captain Shreve T-2019, T-’21
2 Woodlawn T-2012; ’16
1 Bossier 2012
1 Green Oaks 2020

State semifinalists, champions

Byrd – State runner-up 2013 (Division I); declared state champ 2020 (Div. I)

Calvary – State champion 2013 (Division III); state champion 2014 (Div. III); state champion 2020 (Div. IV); semifinalist 2021 (Div. IV)

Evangel – State champ 2016 (Division I); runner-up 2012 (Class 2A); semifinalist 2013 (Div. II); semifinalist 2015 (Div. I); semifinalist 2017 (Div. I); semifinalist 2018 (Div. I)

Haughton – semifinalist 2019 (Class 5A)

Parkway – State runner-up 2013 (Class 5A), semifinalist 2015 (Class 5A).

Contact Lee at