Northwood’s McCabe selected to 4A All-State baseball team


Northwood outfielder Tucker McCabe was named to the Louisiana Sports Writers Association Class 4A All-State team released Sunday.

McCabe, a sophomore, hit .492 with 24 extra-base hits, drove home 42 runs, scored 50 and stole 54 bases. He helped the Falcons finish with a 29-11 record and tie a school record of wins in a season.

Teammate Ryan Gardner, a senior outfielder, and Evangel’s Kody Jackson, a junior, were selected to the honorable mention.

Owen Schexnaydre of Vandebilt Catholic was named the Outstanding Player. Schexnaydre, a LSU-Eunice commitment, helped Vandebilt win its first state title (Division II) since 1971.

Mike Barba of South Terrebonne was the Coach of the Year after leading the Gators to their first LHSAA baseball state championship.

Here is a look at the rest of the team:


Position, Player, School, Class, Stats

P Haydan Toal, Tioga Sr. 9-3

P Owen Schexnaydre, Vandebilt Catholic Sr. 11-3

P Josh Pierce South Lafourche Sr. 9-2

P Aiden Leonard, North Vermilion Jr. 9-0

C Robert Ashley, North DeSoto Jr. .500

IF Shea Pitre, South Terrebonne Sr. .402

IF Tyson Leblanc, North Vermilion Jr. .468

IF Dalton Hill, Northwood Sr. .454

IF Daniel Breard, Neville Sr. .361

OF Zeb Ruddell, Neville Sr. .434

OF Jonah Callais, South Lafourche Sr. .398 

OF Dorien Jackson, Breaux Bridge Sr. .436

UTIL Tucker McCabe, Northwood So. .492

UTIL Jackson Martin, South Terrebonne Jr. .317

UTIL Eli David, Vandebilt Catholic Sr. .398

UTIL Dominick Letort, Lakeshore Jr. .415

UTIL Kameron Mangum, North DeSoto Jr. 10-0

OUTSTANDING PLAYER: Owen Schexnaydre, Vandebilt Catholic


COACH OF THE YEAR: Mike Barba, South Terrebonne

Honorable mention: Ryan Gardner, Northwood; Kody Jackson, Evangel; Jakobe Jackson, Minden; Layne Lacaze, DeRidder; Cole Simoneaux, Assumption; Alex Brannan, DeRidder; Andrew Simon, Cecilia; Reid Godchaux, Teurlings Catholic; Morgan Sauber, Lakeshore; Eli Benoit, St. Thomas More; Gavem Jones, Tioga; Andrew Cooper, Minden; Duece Cheramie, South Lafourche; Andon Dupre, Assumption; Lake Grant, Neville; Kaden Sanders, Tioga; Tanner Hornback, St. Thomas More; Josh Bardwell, Tioga; Dominic Archilia, Vandebilt Catholic; Reece Turner, Assumption; Jack Stefanski, St. Thomas More; Colbi Dennis, Plaquemine; Sage Rivere, Assumption; Chrisian Arceneaux, South Terrebonne; Cale Comeaux, Teurlings Catholic; Eli Lirette, Lakeshore; Wes Allemand, South Lafourche; Robbie Harrison, St. Michael.