Championships elude local stars in LHSAA small school tennis

AMONG THE BEST: Loyola’s Mary Elberson (left) and Taylor Nash fell in the semifinals of girls’ doubles at the Division III state tennis tournament Wednesday in Monroe.


MONROE — Calvary’s doubles team of Zach Hicks and Jake Brown came up just short in their quest for the LHSAA Division IV state title, falling to Dillon Burdett and Kai Harrison of Christ Episcopal School 2-6, 6-3, 6-4 in Wednesday afternoon’s championship match at Heard Stadium on the ULM campus.

“We fell a little short, but we’re proud of our performance,” Hicks said.

Hicks and Brown advanced to the championship match with a 6-2, 6-3 victory over Pope John Paul II’s Lincoln and Henley Oertling in the semifinals Wednesday morning.

In Division III, Loyola’s Mary Elberson and Taylor Nash fell to Marilla Congeni and Olivia Boyd of Academy of Sacred Heart (New Orleans) 6-1, 6-3 in the semifinals of girls’ doubles.

Division III team winners were Isidore Newman (girls) and St. Louis Catholic (boys) while Division IV titles went to Ascension Catholic (girls) and Christ Episcopal School (boys).

The Division I and Division II state championships begin today and conclude on Friday.

Competing in girls’ singles in Division I are Byrd’s Bella Young (regional champ) and Elizabeth Hubble and Captain Shreve’s Faith Quarles. Regional champs Morgan and Sydney Young represent Byrd in girls’ doubles along with Captain Shreve’s Katherine Ferrier and Baylor Thornton.

Freshman Drew Kolniak, who won the regional title, will represent Airline in boys’ singles along with teammate Madden Sawrie and Captain Shreve’s Hayden McFarlain. Doubles teams competing at state will be Ronit Ahluwalia and Carter Priestley of Airline along with James Auer and Mark Quarles of Captain Shreve.

In Division II, girls’ singles players include Natalie Sin and Thuy Chau of Caddo Magnet, Haughton’s Addison Yarbrough, and Benton’s Raelee Craft. Girls’ doubles teams competing will be Tuyen Chau and Neelie Lim of Caddo Magnet and Haughton’s Mallory Benton and Shelby Haley.

Competing in boys’ singles are Haughton’s Zach Haley and Benton’s Alex Gonzalez. Caddo Magnet has two doubles teams competing – Thaeh Chau/Marshall O’Callaghan and Ethan Hood/Daniel Wright.