Archery teams wrap up season with big wins

What a year it has been for the Tigers, and we are not talking about LSU Baseball.

The Benton Intermediate and Benton Middle School archery teams were, once again, on target for big wins during the 2022-23 season.

Benton Intermediate finished second in the world at the 3D Open/World tournament in Myrtle Beach, South Carolina. As archery coach Suzanne Hill explained, BIS actually tied with the first place team, but the tie breaker goes to the team with the most 10’s and the Tigers were edged out. In addition, Om Ganapathy finished fifth in the world among all elementary boys with a score of 281 and Brody Scott was randomly drawn for a $500 scholarship for Academic Archers. The second place win at the Open/World tournament came on the heels of another second place win in the National Bullseye Tournament and seventh in 3D.

In the middle school division, Benton Middle finished the season as the third best in the world in both the NASP Open/World Bullseye and IBO 3D Championships. Savannah O’Donohue took the second place spot in 3D and third place in Bullseye among all middle school girls; and Charli Long snagged a $2,000 scholarship after being one of five archers invited to participate in a shootoff based on her outstanding performance in the Bullseye tournament at Nationals.

That showing followed the Tigers’ big win as NASP IBO 3D National Champions in Louisville, Kentucky, and where Long emerged as the first place winner in both the 3D and Bullseye for middle school girls and first in 3D among all 3,000+ girls. O’Donohue was close behind her Tiger teammate, ranking fourth in Bullseye. BMS also emerged as the ALAS Regional Champions and 3D and Bullseye State Champions earlier in the season.

The Haughton Middle School Buccaneers also made a splash, placing third in Bullseye at the state tournament, 16th in the Eastern National IBO 3D Challenge and ranking 15th in the Open/World IBO 3D Championship.

To say Bossier Schools is proud is an understatement. Congratulations to these three teams and individual archers for an outstanding season.