Evangel’s Jackson, Northwood’s Benzler earn 4A All-State rewards from LSWA


Evangel two-sport standout Kody Jackson capped his high school career by earning All-State honors on the Louisiana Sports Writers Association’s Class 4A All-State baseball team announced today. 

Northwood sophomore infielder Jaxon Bentzler, after helping lead the Falcons to the state quarterfinals, was also honored on the All-State first team. He was a repeat pick on the Shreveport-Bossier Journal All-Metro Team and the All-District 1-4A squad after hitting .414 with 8 home runs and 35 RBI.

Jackson, a senior outfielder, batted .481 with 8 doubles, 5 triples and 2 home runs for the Eagles, while collecting 27 RBI and scoring 35 runs. He is a UL Lafayette football signee. 

His Eagles teammate, junior first baseman Peyton Fulgham, was an honorable mention selection. 

North DeSoto’s Aly Delafield, a Northwestern State signee, is the Outstanding Player on the 4A All-State softball squad. She  led the Griffins to a Division II nonselect title – their third LHSAA title in a row. 

Delafield was 14-1 in the circle with 131 strikeouts and a 1.54 ERA. She also batted .402 with five home runs and 32 RBI. 

Three local girls received honorable mention status on the All-State team: junior infielder Haven Brooks and senior infielder Gabbi Olague of Evangel, and freshman utility player Landry McLamb of Caddo Magnet. 



P Aiden Leonard North Vermilion Sr. 8-1

P Marshall Louque Lutcher So. 8-1

P James Guidry Vandebilt So. 11-2

P Dominick Letort Lakeshore Sr. 6-4

C Robert Ashley North DeSoto Sr. .506

IF Kameron Magnum North DeSoto Sr. .498

IF Jaxon Bentzler Northwood So. .414

IF Tyson Leblanc North Vermilion Sr. .433

IF Cole Simoneaux Assumption So. 302

OF Kody Jackson Evangel Sr. .481

OF Luke Babin Lutcher Sr. .413

OF Eli Lirette Lakeshore Sr. .389

UTL Drew Daigle Brusly So. 470

UTL Michael Plummer Neville Sr. .389

UTL Julian Bourgeois Vandebilt Catholic Sr. .340

UTL Owen Simoneaux Assumption Sr. 7-1

UTL Noah Melancon St. Thomas More Sr. 7-4



Honorable mention

Reece Turner, Assumption; Drew Pitre, South Terrebonne; Jacob Curole, South Lafourche; Tanner Nguyen, Neville; Brady Martin, Tioga; Matthew Taylor, Tioga; BJ Nichols, Leesville; Carter Causey, Leesville; Braden Richardson, North Vermilion; Cade Robin, North Vermilion; Drake Detillier, South Terrebonne; Peyton Fulghum, Evangel; Cale Comeaux, Teurlings Catholic; Evan Rousseau, Assumption; Sam Odom, North DeSoto; Jakobe Jackson, Minden; Tyler Looney, Tioga; Cooper Martin, Lafayette Christian; Ryan Reeves, Tioga; Sutton Lewis, Neville; Tanner Hornbeck, St. Thomas More; Isaac Jabeley, Ben Franklin; Julyan Clarks, Shaw; Enrique Herazo, Willow; Zach Brisset. De La Salle; Evan Fruge, Eunice; Kade Hebert, Breaux Bridge.


P Aly Delafield North DeSoto Sr. 14-1

P Laney Johnson North DeSoto Jr. 19-1

P Ava Prejean St. Thomas More Sr. 19-0

P Lauren Baudoin Vandebilt Catholic Fr. 27-7

C Shayanne Irvin St. Thomas More .433

IF Aaliyah Gonzales Academy of Our Lady So. 405

IF Mia Norwood North DeSoto Jr. .472

IF Abbi Troquille Tioga Jr. .515

IF Raegan Henderson North DeSoto So. .449

OF Lailia Clark Brusly Jr. .484

OF Ella Mabile Assumption So. .424

OF Cheyenne Jenkins Hannan Jr. .354

UTL Christina Lambert Tioga Jr. 15-3

UTL Hays Ruttledge Vandebilt Catholic Fr. .458

UTL Gabbie Stutes St. Thomas More Sr. .515

UTL Gracie Toledano Academy of Our Lady Jr. .354

UTL Kennedy Stutes St. Thomas More Jr. .486



Honorable mention

Bryanne Davis, Morgan City; Samantha Fillinich, South Lafourche; Adna Crochet, Assumption,  Katlin Worsham, Neville; McKenna Howell, Grant; Katreal Earthly, Peabody; Kennedy Kelly, North Vermilion; Ani Comeaux, Rayne; Gabie Peri, De La Salle; Devyn Latiolais, Beau Chene; Amelia Bouvier, Brusly; Lexi Cambre, Lutcher; Kassidi Barthelemy, Belle Chasse; Haven Brooks, Evangel; Jailah Rideau, Beau Chene; Blair Ursin, Lutcher; Gabbi Olague, Evangel; Sanai Salvant, Belle Chasse; Jaci Camadelle, Academy of Our Lady; Zoe Roland, Tioga;  Gracie Pettway, Grant; Cloe Bonvillain, Beau Chene; Elle Carter, Neville; Landry McLamb, Caddo Magnet; Ari Townsend, St. Thomas More; Kynlee Madere, Lutcher; Kaitlyn Roberts, Tioga; Erin Werner Grant;  Ashunte Specks, Neville; Dyavani Battle, Belle Chasse; Corin Talbot, Vandebilt Catholic; Gabie Peri, De La Salle; Meia Tyler, Ben Franklin.