Cavaliers’ Jackson Legg named to 2A All-State baseball team 

STRONG LEGG: Calvary senior first baseman-pitcher Jackson Legg was named to the LSWA Class 2A All-State baseball team. (Photo by JOHN PENROD, Journal Sports)


Calvary utility man Jackson Legg was named to the Louisiana Sports Writers Association Class 2A All-State baseball team. 

Legg is an LSU-Eunice signee who played in the infield, at first base, when not on the mound for the Cavaliers. He finished with a .422 batting average and drove in 40 runs. He was 10-2 with a 0.89 ERA on the hill. 

Calvary senior catcher Cade Bedgood made honorable mention after hitting .392. 

Here is a complete list of the 2023 Class 2A All-State baseball team:  

P Andrew Prejean, Menard              Sr.          11-2 

P Reese Ashworth, DeQuincy          Sr.           10-2 

P Brandon Kragle, St. Charles          Jr.            8-1 

P Brady St. Pierre, St. Charles          Jr.            9-0 

C Grant Cohn, Dunham                  Sr.           .427 

IF Ayden Authement, St. Charles    Sr.         .378 

IF Brodie Stuart, Oak Grove            So.        .443 

IF Jake Smith, Rosepine                  Sr.         .406 

IF Grant Ducote, Rosepine              Sr.         .436 

OF Will Sanders, Springfield           Sr.          .492 

OF Aden Cline, Rosepine                Sr.          .424 

OF Parker LeBlanc, Delcambre       Sr.           .427 

UTL Michael Hotard, St. Charles 

UTL Jackson Legg, Calvary             Sr.           10-2 

UTL Cooper Scott, Menard             Jr.            7-1 

UTL Sam Bernard, Notre Dame       Sr.           8-2 

UTL Aidan Mouton, Notre Dame    Sr.           .417  

Outstanding Player – Reese Ashworth, DeQuincy  

Coach of the Year – Wayne Stein, St. Charles  

Honorable mention: Cade Bedgood, Calvary; Tyler Hughes, Red River; E.J. Abshire, Ascension Episcopal;  Gage Hutson, Mangham; Garrett Walker, Grand Lake; Logan Sorrel, Dunham; Jon Jon Dick, Lakeside; JC Hendrickson, Many; Ben Wade, Menard; Andrew Abshire, Notre Dame; Hollan Stripling, D’Arbonne Woods; Tanner Duff, Oak Grove; Drake Aldredge, Menard; Drew Bourgeois, Dunham; Jackson Monica, St. Charles; Lane Almond, Mangham; Hunter Gillespie, Glenmora; Cameron Parks, Glenmora; Chase Cresson, Episcopal; Peyton Woodring, Ascension Episcopal; Seth Ray, Oak Grove; Blake Rodriguez, Pope John Paul II; Hadley Warner, Vinton; Sammy Maddox, DeQuincy, Jorge Pertuit, Houma Christian.