LFCA I-20 Bowl West roster features many local stars

ALL-STAR QB:  Benton’s prolific passer, Gray Walters, is among a big group of local senior high school football players selected for a postseason all-star game. (Photo by APRIL JOHNSON, Journal Sports)

By JERRY BYRD, Journal Sports

The Louisiana Football Coaches Association I-20 Bowl set for Sunday, Dec. 18 at 2 p.m. at Ruston High School has plenty of local players, and coaches, involved.

Parkway’s Coy Brotherton will be the head coach for the West team.

Brotherton’s roster will include some of the best players in northwest Louisiana, including five of his Parkway Panthers. Quarterback Ashton Martin, offensive lineman Chandler Davis, linebacker Barrett Newman, defensive end Ray Mayweather, and kicker Nolan Dean were all selected to the 35-man roster.       

Other Bossier Parish players making the team: Benton’s quarterback Gray Walters, wide receiver Pearce Russell, linebacker Zach Halbert, and cornerback Landon Duggan; Haughton offensive lineman Peyton Polk and linebacker Connor Blank; Airline offensive lineman Reid Hawsey, defensive back Chris Montgomery, and Viking standout wide receiver Daxton Chavez.        

C.E. Byrd leads Caddo schools with three players selected to the West roster. The Jackets’ All-City linebacker Brooks Brossette, safety Christian Jones, and defensive end Isaiah Ford were all selected to represent northwest Louisiana.        

Northwood, Huntington, and North Caddo had two players each.      

Falcons defensive lineman Ted Jamison and running back Quintavion White will play in the all-star game as will Huntington running back Tre Carter and Jabaria Scott. North Caddo will be represented on the team by running back K.J. Black and defensive back Rodney Thomas.         

Other players making the team from Caddo Parish include Calvary offensive lineman Jordan Byrd, Captain Shreve’s Chris Allen, and Southwood athlete Corinthian Walters.         

Three North Desoto Griffins will represent DeSoto Parish on the West team: running back Brian Banks, defensive back Hunter Addison, and defensive lineman Marques “Gator” Hampton. Other DeSoto Parish products making the team include Mansfield’s Dakeldrick Thomas and Logansport’s Jayven Claybrook. 

Other area players making the West team include Natchitoches Central’s defensive lineman Tredarius Brown, Minden’s offensive and defensive lineman Maki Reed, and two from reigning Class A champ Homer: running back Eljay Curry, and lineman Walteze Champ.           

The offensive coordinator for the West will be Calvary’s Marvin Williams. The defensive coordinator will be Benton’s Scott Reeder. Other assistant coaches include Captain Shreve head coach Adam Kirby (offensive line), Huntington’s Jeremy Wilburn (wide receivers), Natchitoches Central’s Matt Anding (secondary), Bossier head coach DeAumante Johnson (secondary), Parkway’s Jacob James (wide receivers), and Northwood’s Jarrett Taylor (defensive line).

Contact Jerry at sbjjerrybyrd@gmail.com